October is ADHD Awareness Month

Canadians are being asked to BECOME AWARE, GET INFORMED and SHARE the MESSAGE.

This October, groups and individuals across Canada are encouraging everyone to support ADHD Awareness Week and toss the myths, stereotypes, and widespread misinformation to the side!

Myths and misinformation have been prominent in the media and in the community at large for too many years. The understanding needs to start now!

ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) is one of the most common disorders in Canada and it doesn’t discriminate. It impacts people from all walks of life and backgrounds. It affects more than a million Canadian men, women, boys and girls of all ages.

2015 Awareness Campaign

Understanding ADHD as a Disability in the Post-Secondary Environment

Approximately 4% or 150,000 young adult Canadians are impacted by ADHD symptoms often impairing their success in post-secondary education. And although recent success in ADHD awareness and support has allowed more students with ADHD to access post-secondary education allowing them to reach their academic and career potential some post-secondary institutions still lack an understanding of the disorder.

This year our ADHD Awareness Campaign is focussing on the issue of students with ADHD receiving appropriate academic accommodations while accessing post-secondary education. This is the topic addressed in a paper authored and recently published by the “Centre for ADHD Awareness, Canada (CADDAC)”. The paper, titled: “Understanding ADHD as a Disability in the Post-Secondary Environment” and the media release, highlights the inequity in access to post-secondary education accommodations due to a lack of national or provincial standards backed by medical research. This is causing significant inconsistencies in the medical documentation required of students with ADHD by post-secondary schools resulting in discriminatory practices potentially leaving colleges and universities open to legal challenges.

Research has shown that standardized psychological tests, more suited for detecting learning disabilities and brain injuries, which are being demanded by some schools, do not accurately quantify the nature of impairments that characterize ADHD. When used, such tests may unfairly bar students from qualifying for accommodations, causing inequity in access to post-secondary education.

CADDAC does agree that detailed medical reporting, by an ADHD medical expert, should be required to meet Canadian government requirements. Reports should provide post-secondary institutions with the necessary information required to understand the student’s unique impairments and needs for specific accommodations. To assist with this CADDAC has also produced a resource for physicians and psychologists to assist them in developing a detailed report that would meet government requirements and provide the necessary information for post-secondary institutions.

2015 Campaign Documents

Media Release

CBC  “The Current” interview, “ADHD students face challenges getting help in university”

Ontario Launch ADHD Awareness Month

Paper “Understanding ADHD as a Disability in the Post-Secondary Environment”

Resource for medical professionals

Key messages

Chart demonstrating inconsistencies in post-secondary requirements

Additional information on Adult ADHD Awareness:

Access information on Adult ADHD.

Access Information on Adult ADHD PSA (Public Service Announcement).

Access Information on the CADDAC Adult information USB.

Get informed and stop the needless suffering!

The Canadian Socioeconomic Costs of ADHD

The impairing effects of ADHD also increase costs to healthcare, education, labour, social services and the justice system. They impede the attainment of human and social capital, resulting in increased socioeconomic costs for Canada. These costs are further fuelled by the continued under-diagnosis and under-treatment of ADHD. A shocking 90% of adults remain untreated, despite the far-reaching impact of ADHD. Access our paper on the Costs of ADHD.

CADDAC needs your help! Get Involved and let people know that
ADHD matters to You!

Do you know someone with ADHD? Chances are that you do. Take some time to know the facts, understand the reality, and be part of a movement to educate other Canadians about something so common, yet so misunderstood.

CADDAC is calling for Canadians to BECOME AWARE and INFORMED about ADHD!

Octobre est le mois de la sensibilisation au TDAH

Nous demandons à tous les Canadiens de SE SENSIBILISER, S’INFORMER et PARTAGEZ le MESSAGE.

Pendant le mois d’octobre, les associations et les individus à travers le Canada encouragerons les autres à donner leur appui à la semaine de la sensibilisation au TDAH et de mettre de côté les mythes, les stéréotypes et les fausses informations qui circulent sur le TDAH!

Les mythes et les mauvaises informations sont partout dans les médias et la communauté depuis trop d’années. La compréhension doit commencer dès maintenant!

Le TDAH (trouble du déficit de l’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité) est un des troubles les plus répandus au Canada et ne discrimine pas. Il vise toute personne peu importe l’âge, le sexe et la situation économique. Il touche plus d’un million de Canadiens: hommes, femmes, garçons et filles de tous les groupes d’âge.

2015 Campagne de sensibilisation

Comprendre le TDAH comme un handicap dans l’environnement post-secondaire

Environ 4% ou 150 000 jeunes adultes canadiens souffrent de symptômes de TDAH ce qui a souvent des impacts sur la réussite de leurs études postsecondaires. Même si l’augmentation récente de la sensibilisation au TDAH et du soutien offert a permis à plus d’étudiants atteints d’un TDAH d’avoir accès à une éducation postsecondaire, leur permettant ainsi de réaliser leur plein potentiel académique et professionnel, certains établissements d’études postsecondaires continuent à mal comprendre ce trouble.

Cette année, notre campagne de sensibilisation au TDAH portera sur l’importance pour les étudiants atteints d’un TDAH de recevoir les accommodements académiques nécessaires pendant leurs études postsecondaires. Ce sujet fut abordé dans un document récemment écrit et publié par CADDAC (Centre for ADHD Awareness, Canada). Ce document intitulé «Comprendre le TDAH comme handicap en milieu d’études postsecondaires» et le communiqué de presse soulignent l’inégalité dans l’accès à une éducation postsecondaire due à l’absence de consensus sur des normes nationales ou provinciales basées sur de la recherche médicale. Ceci cause des grandes incohérences dans la documentation médicale exigée à ces étudiants en milieu d’études postsecondaires ce qui entraîne des pratiques discriminatoires par ces collèges et ces universités, les rendant sujets à de possibles contestations judiciaires.

Des recherches ont démontré que les tests psychologiques normalisés, plus appropriés pour détecter des troubles d’apprentissage et des traumatismes crâniens, demandés par certains établissements d’études postsecondaires ne quantifient pas adéquatement la nature des atteintes fonctionnelles qui caractérisent le TDAH. Lorsqu’utilisés, de tels tests peuvent empêcher injustement des étudiants à se qualifier pour des accommodements académiques, résultant ainsi à une inégalité dans l’accès à une éducation postsecondaire.

CADDAC est d’accord qu’un rapport médical détaillé par un expert médical dans le domaine du TDAH devrait répondre aux exigences du gouvernement du Canada. Les rapports devraient fournir aux établissements d’études postsecondaires avec les informations nécessaires dont ils ont besoin pour comprendre les déficiences uniques de l’étudiant et le besoin pour des accommodements spécifiques. En plus de la publication du document mentionné ci-haut, CADDAC a développé un outil pour les médecins et les psychologues pour les aider à la rédaction d’un rapport détaillé qui répond aux exigences du gouvernement du Canada et qui fournit les informations nécessaires aux établissements d’études postsecondaires.

L’accès à tous les documents pertinents

Pour consulter le communiqué de presse

Pour consulter le document sur ce subject

Pour consulter l’outil pour les experts médicaux en TDAH

Pour consulter la présentation en format document

Pour consulter la grille concernant les incohérences à travers les établissements d’études postsecondaires

Pour plus de renseignements sur la sensibilisation au TDAH:

Information sur le TDAH chez l’adulte.

Informez-vous et arrêtez de souffrir en silence!

 

Les coûts du TDAH

Les répercussions du TDAH augmentent aussi les coûts pour les soins de santé, l’éducation, le milieu du travail, les services sociaux et le système judiciaire. Si non traité, le TDAH empêche les gens de se réaliser à leur plein capital humain et social, entraînant des coûts socioéconomiques importants pour le gouvernement canadien. Les effets nuisibles du trouble, exacerbés par un sous-diagnostic et un sous-traitement continus du TDAH, se traduisent directement en une augmentation des coûts. Un impressionnant 90% des adultes ne sont pas traités, en dépit de l’impact important du TDAH sur l’individu et sa famille. Veuillez consulter à notre livre blanc sur les coûts du TDAH.

CADDAC a besoin de votre aide! Impliquez-vous et dites aux autres que le TDAH est important pour tous!

Connaissez-vous une personne atteinte d’un TDAH? Il est fort probable que la réponse soit oui. Prenez le temps de connaître les faits, de comprendre la réalité de ce trouble et de vous impliquer à éduquer les autres Canadiens sur ce trouble si commun, mais si mal connu.

CADDAC demande à tous les Canadiens de SE SENSIBILISER et DE S’INFORMER sur le TDAH!