The REAL FACTS ABOUT ADHD

  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is NOT a disorder of undisciplined overactive boys. It is a real, complex, multifaceted, often life-long neurobiological disorder that affects people of both genders and all ages.

  • ADHD is NOT an insignificant disorder. In fact, it is one of the most common neurological disorders in Canada and is estimated to affect over one million Canadians. Yet it continues to be under-diagnosed and under-treated.

    • Research indicates that ADHD conservatively affects 5% of school childreni meaning on average, there are one or two children with ADHD in every 20-student classroom.

  • ADHD doesn’t “go away.” Left untreated, the majority of sufferers will carry symptoms – regulating attention (difficulty paying attention, prioritizing attention and being easily distracted), losing things and forgetting to complete tasks, and speaking and acting impulsively, – through to adulthood. The result is significant impairment in their ability to study, work and manage their lives.

  • 80% of children affected with ADHD symptoms can carry the condition into adolescence and in over 60% of adults, the core symptoms will continue to cause impairment.ii

  • A new Canadian paper, Attention to the Cost of ADHD…The Price Paid by Canadian Families, Governments and Society demonstrates just how far reaching the impact of ADHD can be. This paper highlights research showing the impact on the attainment of human and social capital, resulting in increased socioeconomic costs for Canada, as well as increased costs to healthcare, education, labour, social services, and increased costs to the justice system.

    • Canada loses an estimated $6 billion to $11 billion annually through loss of workplace productivity.iii

    • The Canadian cost of illness extrapolated at over $7 billion, exceeds the cost of major depressive disorders.iv

    • Individuals with ADHD are more likely to enter the workforce as unskilled or semi-skilled workers; have greater periods of unemployment; change jobs more frequently; and earn considerably less money over their lifetime.

    • There is a direct correlation in terms of increasing healthcare costs.

    • The cost to educate students with ADHD is high, yet academic outcomes are still in question.

    • The impact of ADHD on Canadian social services continues to escalate.

  • ADHD can affect anyone. A new Canadian paper demonstrates just how far reaching the impact of ADHD can be. The impairing effects of ADHD can have a dramatic effect on life at home, school, work and socially. The analysis also shows the impact on the attainment of human and social capital, resulting in increased socioeconomic costs for Canada, increased costs to healthcare, education, labour and social services, and increased costs to the justice system.

REFERENCES

i Polanczyk G, de Lima MS, Horta BL, Biederman J, Rohde LA. The worldwide prevalence of ADHD: a systematic review and metaregression analysis. Am J Psychiatry. 2007 Jun;164(6):942-8.

ii Kessler, R.C., et al., Lifetime prevalence and age-of-onset distributions of DSM-IV disorders in the National Comorbidity Survey Replication. Arch Gen Psychiatry, 2005. 62(6): p. 593-602.

iii CADDAC Socioeconomic White Paper June 2013

iv CADDAC Socioeconomic White Paper June 2013

LES VRAIS FAITS SUR LE TDAH

  • Le trouble du déficit de l’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité (TDAH) N’EST PAS un trouble pour garçons hyperactifs indisciplinés. C’est un trouble neurobiologique réel, complexe, à multiples facettes et à longue durée qui touche les personnes des deux sexes et de tous les groupes d’âge.

  • Le TDAH N’EST PAS un trouble insignifiant. En effet, c’est l’un des troubles neurologiques les plus répandus au Canada et il est estimé que plus d’un million de Canadiens en souffrent. Or, il continue à être sous-diagnostiqué et sous-traité.

    • Selon un taux de prévalence prudent, 5 % des enfants d’âge scolaire sont atteints d’un TDAHi, soit en moyenne un à deux enfants par classe de vingt élèves.

  • Le TDAH ne «disparaît» pas. Sans traitement, la majorité des individus atteints d’un TDAH continueront de présenter des symptômes à l’âge adulte: difficulté à se concentrer, facilement distrait, perdre des choses, oublier de terminer des tâches, parler et agir impulsivement, le tout résultant à une altération significative de leur capacité à étudier, de travailler et de gérer leur vie.

  • 80% des enfants diagnostiqués avec un TDAH maintiendront ce diagnostic à l’adolescence et plus de 60% continueront à présenter les principaux symptômes à l’âge adulte.ii

  • Un nouveau document canadien, Porter attention au coût du TDAH… Le prix payé par les familles canadiennes, les gouvernements et la société, met en évidence les répercussions du TDAH. Ce document traite des recherches démontrant l’impact du TDAH sur la réalisation du capital humain et social, l’augmentation des coûts socioéconomiques pour le Canada, ainsi que l’augmentation des coûts dans le milieu de la santé, de l’éducation, du travail, des services sociaux et du système judiciaire.

    • Le TDAH coûte à l’économie canadienne entre 6 et 11 milliards de dollars en raison des pertes de productivité en milieu de travail chaque année.iii

    • Le «coût canadien de la maladie» est estimé à plus de 7 milliards de dollars, excédant le coût relié à la dépression majeure.iv

    • Les travailleurs atteints d’un TDAH sont plus susceptibles d’entrer sur le marché du travail en tant que travailleurs non qualifiés ou spécialisés; d’avoir des périodes de chômage plus longues; d’être mis à pied; de changer d’emploi plus souvent et de gagner beaucoup moins d’argent pendant leur vie.

    • Il y a une corrélation directe en termes d’augmentation des coûts de santé.

    • Les coûts d’éducation des élèves atteints d’un TDAH sont élevés, mais l’issue des résultats scolaires demeure.

    • Les répercussions du TDAH sur les services sociaux canadiens continuent d’augmenter.

  • Le TDAH a des répercussions sur tous. Un nouveau document canadien met en évidence les conséquences du TDAH qui peuvent avoir un effet significatif sur la vie familiale, sociale, à l’école et au travail. Ce document traite également de l’impact du TDAH sur la réalisation du capital humain et social, l’augmentation des coûts socioéconomiques pour le Canada, ainsi que l’augmentation des coûts dans le milieu de la santé, de l’éducation, du travail, des services sociaux et du système judiciaire.

RÉFÉRENCES

i Polanczyk G, de Lima MS, Horta BL, Biederman J, Rohde LA. The worldwide prevalence of ADHD: a systematic review and metaregression analysis. Am J Psychiatry. 2007 Jun;164(6):942-8.

ii Kessler, R.C., et al., Lifetime prevalence and age-of-onset distributions of DSM-IV disorders in the National Comorbidity Survey Replication. Arch Gen Psychiatry, 2005. 62(6): p. 593-602.

iii CADDAC Socioeconomic White Paper June 2013

iv CADDAC Socioeconomic White Paper June 2013